Radiologic Technology class holds pinning
Ogeechee Technical College

Back Row Left to Right: Tyler Chase, Mark Emig, Kaitlyn Elliott, and Daniel Veal
Front Row Left to Right: Sarah Yates, Tiffany Beckum, Cayla Wilson, and Brooke Meadows

The Ogeechee Technical College Radiologic Technology Class of 2018, nicknamed “The Elite 8”, held its pinning ceremony November 29th in the Joseph E. Kennedy auditorium to a full house.

Tiffany Beckum welcomed everyone and thanked them for their support during the last 17 semesters.

The class chose Mr. Larry Rowley, R.T.(R) (CT) from Winn Army Community Hospital as their keynote speaker. Larry is one of the many clinical instructors that works with OTC Rad Tech students. He spoke about their tenacity and strength during the Radiologic Technology program. Larry also encouraged each student to stay true to their chosen profession and to remain passionate and compassionate not only in their personal lives but most importantly their professional lives. He commended them on completing the program and reminded everyone that getting through the program is not easy, if it was then everyone would do it.

The class gave two awards, the first of which was the Clinical Instructor of the Year, which went to Larry Rowley. He was presented with a plaque from the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) and a National Radiologic Technology Week – “Powerful Together” back pack. The students chose Larry for his upbeat and professional attitude with them in the clinical setting.

The second award was the Radiographer of the Year. J’Lisia Thompkins from South Coast Medical Imaging in Savannah was this year’s recipient. The students appreciate the positive influence she has shown them in the clinical setting. J’Lisia is a 2013 graduate of OTC’s Radiologic Technology program. She was given a plaque and a book bag from the class.

Two student awards were presented to outstanding students in the Class of 2018. The Student Academic Achievement Award is presented to the student with the highest GPA. Mark A Emig, Jr completes the program with a 4.0 GPA. Also, Mark sat for the national certification exam the morning of the pinning and scored 95% and will be certified as a Registered Radiologic Technologist. Presently, he is working in the CT department at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Savannah.

The second award is for the Student Radiographer of the Year. This award is voted on by the clinical staff at our clinical settings. The Student of the Year is Tiffany Beckum. Some of the comments from clinical sites spoke of her positive attitude and high work ethic. She is married and has two children under the age of 5.

The students were pinned by Matt Dunn and Jan Martin. Following the ceremony, guests enjoyed a reception catered by Colby Thompson, Class of 2017.


Contact Information

Vice President for College Advancement
Phone: 912.681.5500 | Email: