Ogeechee Tech names employee standouts

Ogeechee Technical College recognized three employees on January 23 with Support Staff of the Year, Leadership, and Rick Perkins—Instructor of the Year awards. The awards were presented at the College’s Spring semester faculty/staff meeting.

Melba Williams (pictured far right) received the Support Staff of the Year award. Williams is a Student Affairs Assistant, working in the Financial Aid office at the College.

John Groover, Dean for Academic Affairs, was named the recipient of the College’s Leadership award. The Leadership award is given to employees who are not instructors, who are not classified as support staff, and who are in a leadership position at the College.

The Rick Perkins award is the Technical College System of Georgia’s (TCSG) instructor of the year award. Loretta Jane Stanley, an Echocardiography instructor at the College, was named as the winner. As Rick Perkins winner for Ogeechee Tech, Stanley will go on to compete at the regional level, and will travel to Atlanta to participate in the competition at the state level.

Following the presentation of awards, a reception was held to allow co-workers to congratulate the three winners. “We have a great group of faculty and staff members, and these award winners represent the best of the best. I congratulate Jane, John, and Melba for their work ethic and their commitment to help Ogeechee Tech better serve students,” said Dr Dawn Cartee, President of the Ogeechee Technical College.



Contact Information

Barry Turner
Vice President for Community and College Relations
Phone: 912.681.5500 | Email:

One Joseph E. Kennedy Blvd., Statesboro, GA 30458 USA
Phone: (912) 681-5500 or (800) 646-1316 | Email: