Driver's Education Training
Thank you for considering Ogeechee Technical College for your child’s driver’s education training. Learning to drive is a major milestone for your teen and it is important that young or inexperienced drivers learn safe driving techniques. In 2007, the State of Georgia passed Joshua’s Law which requires all teen drivers to take an approved driver’s education course before obtaining their Class D driver’s license. Our state-approved driver’s education course meets the requirements for Joshua’s Law and includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. In addition, most insurance companies offer a discount on insurance premiums upon successful completion of this course.
Students must be between 15 and 17 years of age and possess a valid Georgia learner’s permit. Students must attend all class sessions for the entire program and complete six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel driving.
Students are officially enrolled in a class when all of their completed registration forms, learner’s permit, and payment are submitted to the Office of Continuing Education.
In order to guarantee a seat in a class, the registration packet, in its entirety, including payment or scholarship voucher, must be received by the Continuing Education Office. Class size is limited to 24 students on a first-come, first-served basis.
- The cost for the course is $375.
- Scholarships are available through the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission.
- For information on Student Eligibility and to apply for a scholarship, please click here.*
* For your first time logging in, click “Forgot my Password” and then enter your email address your username. You will be sent an email with a link to reset your password. Once you create the new password, you may login using your email address as your username and the new password that you created. As a reminder, students/parents will now be required to create an account in order to submit an application using the same link and clicking “student login” and creating a new user account by completing the form. All other processes will remain the same.
To register for a Driver’s Education Course download a Registration Packet and follow the instructions in the packet.