National Technical Honor Society member wins national scholarship

Posted on Jun 08, 2020 at 0:56 AM

Angela “Renee” Walker a student and member of the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) at Ogeechee Technical College has been named one of the 2020 recipients of the Jon H. Poteat Scholarship. 

Walker was chosen as one of the 250 NTHS members to receive this $1,000 scholarship, based on her ability to consistently exemplify the seven character attributes of NTHS – Skill, Honesty, Service, Responsibility, Scholarship, Citizenship, and Leadership.

“We are so proud to have Ms. Walker represent Ogeechee Technical College as a recipient of this scholarship provided by the National Technical Honor Society. Her legacy goes beyond a commitment to learning and developing herself, she has also displayed a willingness to encourage and assist her classmates in their development,” said Alex Harris, a Business Management Instructor at OTC. 

Walker was inducted into NTHS based on her outstanding performance in Career and Technical Education Classes. The NTHS provides scholarships to help students support the pursuit of their career path, and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive, skilled workforce.  

About the National Technical Honor Society: NTHS was established in 1984 with the purpose of honoring student achievement and leadership in Career and Technical Education (CTE). Since 1984, NTHS has served over 1 million members. In 2005, the NTHS scholarship fund was launched, awarding over $2 million in scholarships since that time to enhance and enrich the career opportunities of their members. With chapters in both secondary and postsecondary schools across the country, NTHS is the national leader in providing recognition for excellence in CTE. NTHS serves over 100,000 student members annually throughout the U.S. and U.S. territories and is based in Flat Rock, NC.
About the Jon. H. Poteat Scholarship: The Jon H. Poteat Scholarship is one of 280 scholarships NTHS offers its members every year. Named in honor and memory of their Co-Founder, this scholarship program is reserved exclusively for secondary and postsecondary NTHS members who are currently enrolled in an active chapter. These scholarships are awarded annually to members who consistently exemplify the seven character attributes of NTHS – Skill, Honesty, Service, Responsibility, Scholarship, Citizenship, and Leadership. 




Vice President for College Advancement
Phone: 912.681.2758 | Email:

  • Categories:
  • Press Releases