Walker Named Rick Perkins Winner

Posted on Jan 31, 2019 at 19:57 PM


Billie Walker, a Veterinary Technology instructor at Ogeechee Technical College, was recently named the College’s 2019 Instructor of the Year. This award, known as the Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction, is an annual, statewide event that honors Technical College System of Georgia’s most outstanding instructors. Started in 1991, this honor recognizes technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through service, innovation, and leadership in their field. 

Walker, who has been part of Ogeechee Tech for almost 15 years, was announced as the winner at the College’s spring faculty/staff meeting. Billie’s nomination read, “I have never met a more dedicated instructor. Billie is passionate about veterinary medicine and she shares this passion with her students. They know she is invested in them and they know she pushes them because she wants them to grow to their full potential.”

Walker competed against two other semi-finalists: Matt Dunn, an instructor in the Radiologic Technology program, and Terri Crosson, Surgical Technology instructor. Each instructor prepared a speech and was interviewed by a panel of external judges. 

Walker will represent the College in February at a regional competition, where she will compete against other Rick Perkins winning instructors.  The region finalists will then compete in April for a chance to become the state Rick Perkins Award winner. 

“Technical education is a direct pathway, taught by professionals who have carved a career out of that profession and find fulfillment in teaching that passion to others.  Our students have the best of the best walking with them through their journey,” said Walker.

Congratulations, Billie! 



Contact Information


Vice President for College Advancement
Phone: 912.681.5500 | Email:

  • Categories:
  • Press Releases